Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Grey Heron

After the cold and snowy weather its back to being wet, windy and miserable. The forecast was for the rain to clear, but when it did stop it was replaced by heavy and very frequent showers.

Visited the harbour for blip inspiration but it was empty of boats and any birds or other wildlife of interest. Back to Waterfoot where I spotted a Grey Heron in the river not far from the house. When I have previously approached a Heron to try and get a blip, it has taken flight before I could get the camera on it. Today, as it was still raining slightly, I remained in the car and eventually got a spot where a break in the hedge enabled me to get this blip (best in LARGE).

I had hoped to get the Heron in a spot with more interesting background. However, just as it reached such a spot a woman appeared on the beach opposite with a large Alsation dog. Needless to say the Heron took to the air and was gone! I was none too pleased, particularly as the rain turned heavy a few minutes later!

I love watching the Herons and will no doubt blip one again in another pose!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.