Craig's Journal

By CraigD

The case of the missing monuments

After yesterday's giraffes I thought I would capture my second favourite piece of Leith street art a quirky flock of pigeons. I got there to discover that they had gone! I then thought that I would go for a statue of Sherlock Holmes only to discover it to had vanished. I was getting desperate, until I remembered the Manuscript of Monte Cassino a set of sculptures by Sir Eduardo Luigi Paolozzi reflecting on the battle of Monte Cassino. For me the most famous of the 3 pieces is The Big Foot. Thankfully it was still there.

After some checking I discovered that the other Artwork was moved into storage by our city council as it was in the way of our tram works. Now that Leith is no longer getting trams (for the foreseeable future). Plans are underway to restore it to what it was in 2008 when the fiasco started, it is estimated it will cost about £7million to do this. It is indeed a pity that Sir Eduardo Luigi Paolozzi had not designed a boot to fit this foot and we could have used it on our less than competent council.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.