wingpig

By wingpig

going to need a bigger boat

A little bit city-centrewards along the canal from the big blue dredging-machine (which was unfortunately inactive as the driver made a lunchtime telephone call) a couple of swans were having their lunch too. I was trying to get the other's head when this one started pecking at the grass by my feet. Not one to look a gift swan in the bill it was duly blipped. I subsequently forgot about it and had done the choosing-which-one-to-post thing with the stuff I took on the way home and stuff I took on the evening walk around the bottom of the crags before I though to scroll up a little and remembered this.

Big smelly nasty work-day. When will people learn that "not in time for this month" means "not in time for this month" and not "why yes certainly we can and it won't cost you a penny in overtime either"? Perhaps when hell freezes over or at least when the ambient office temperature drops beneath 15 degrees. I think we might have bottomed out at 22 today which is at least an improvement over yesterday. Still, overtime is overtime or "more lenses" as I intend to refer to it. Pity it's not possible to get that written on the payslip...

At least the evening and night and morning is mine.

And the weekend.



And lunchtime.



Can't believe I wasted lunchtimes a couple of years ago sitting at my desk looking at internets when I was in the office right next to the river, albeit the bit of river without a walkway immediately adjacent. It took me a year of working there to work out that there was a bicycle path network link fifty metres away too, though for the first year my bicycle consisted of rust and bent wheels after a couple of years chained to a fence in the garden. I know some people insist that they simply can't get away at lunchtimes but you probably can. Especially during the winter when there are valid medical reasons. Even if you only have cars rather than swans outside.

Has anyone else recently noticed that after a long walk outside in the evening that they smell slightly of bonfires when they return? Fair enough if you walk along the river between Dean and Stockbridge where the antisocial toffcodgers always light one next to the fence but it seems to be a city-wide thing consisting of bonfire-smell indetectable at the time but really noticeable when you next come to don the affected clothes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.