The Wrapping

As much as it seems a stressful thing to consider, a bit like writing the cards, wrapping up Christmas presents is one of my favourite things.

It always takes longer than I think. The choosing of the paper and packaging is as important as the present itself. My mother complains that it seems shameful to unwrap them. I disagree, and think it adds to the joy of the gift. Something to savour and enjoy before the main thing.

Ribbon and cellophane are big features this year, although I have also used quite a bit of brown parcel paper. It is amazing what a bit of ribbon can do for it. Bells and reindeer feature as tags, and Santa usually manages to find something unusual for his gift.

I refused the mulled wine today - something to to with yesterday - and settled for coffee and mince pie, carols and toe tapping. Ding Dong Merrily on High, I intend to exit this year in a rush of colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.