Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

MODEL MOSESTY


I suffer from what can be classified as a specific phobia - a phobia of an object that is normally harmless to almost everyone else in the world.

Mannequins are, as I accept when I'm fully lucid, not dangerous. But as a pediophobe, rationality goes out the window when you are confronted by your fear.

When faced with a shop dummy, I sweat furiously and my heart races. I feel panicky and sick. While there's no chance of a Rise of the Machines-style uprising from the mannequins, it doesn't feel like that at the time.

Even thinking about them, and writing about them, sets me on edge.

I have a ranking of degrees of horror when it comes to mannequins. Headless mannequins are the worse - the most horrifying by far - along with mannequins that look metal (machine mannequins). These are followed by those with no faces, those with frightening faces and those with no lower bodies or no clothes on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.