Another Robber Fly

This was about 2 cm long.  I have not been able to identify it.  It has a very distinctive pattern on its upper thorax, but I looked at dozens of images without seeing it.

Apart from the yellow haltere, that aids the fly's balance, there is an interesting array of structures at the side of the thorax.

Edit: As mollyblobs points out this is a robber fly.  It is also called an assassin fly as it captures its prey on the wing.  I've blipped one before and forgot about it.

Best seen large

As with the other insect shots in this series I took it with a 10x magnifying filter wedged onto my fixed lens Powershot.  Then I cropped the image, increased the contrast and selectively sharpened the hairy bits.

One year ago: Lunar eclipse

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.