Pictures by MalcolmR

By MalcolmR

Guess where?

This is one of my favourite pictures. I love Port Ellen, where my Dad was born, and this is one tiny part of the village but the one that is perhaps best known around the world.

My sister, who works for Diageo, said yesterday she would help me promote this blog if I used a picture of a Diageo distillery. Well, this is one, and there are a few more. Built in the 1820s, Port Ellen Distillery was mothballed in 1983, and as supplies of its single malt diminish, so the price goes up and up. A bottle or two of this stuff is an investment for sure - better than many a Government bond I might suggest.

The distillery was once owned by a man named John Ramsay, who was apparently one of the first people in the industry to see the value of exporting whisky to the United States. Today's producers are no doubt grateful.

The site is now home to Diageo's (enough name checking?) maltings, which provides supplies to all of the island's distilleries.

Enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.