At Banks of Runabout

I picked a poor day to visit Shapinsay as the wind blew and the rain rained all day long. I walked from the ferry terminal near Balfour Castle up to Mill Dam reserve and sat in the bird-hide for a while, but the rain and poor light made it difficult to see much. There were several hundred mallard, a few shoveler etc. I walked along to Vasa Loch where there were 61 whooper swans. Someone saw an otter dragging a 3ft conger eel across the road here yesterday, but they were long gone. Probably the otter was sleeping off its big meal.

I carried on along the shore of the Bay of Furrowend to the WWII battery at Salt Ness and climbed into the observation tower. A nice sheltered spot to make my coffee. Then along the track past this wartime building now used as a barn by the farmer. I have no idea of the origin of the name and will look into it.

More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.