Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Collectible Baseball: Wrigley Field

I got my Secret Snowman gift yesterday. (I missed the event on Monday due to a dentist appointment.) This baseball was thoughtfully given to me by a co-worker who knows I like baseball and who knew I went to Chicago on a research trip (and managed to squeeze in some time at the ballpark - a lifelong dream) - or who wandered through my facebook albums. Either way - thank you, Secret Santa! I'll keep it at my desk at work.

It did make a trip home yesterday to show Linda. It made an appearance in yesterday's blip of Robert J. Van de Graaff's birthday because of my Chicago trip this summer. Also in this blip are items that have made previous appearances as blips themselves: wedding photo, green squirrel, and squirrel fan.

Curiously, neither the ball nor the paperwork included gives the score. I looked it up, though. The Cubs beat the Reds 4-2 giving them an Opening Day record of 36-14-1. As of 2011 they are 77-57-2.

The ball's mounting card says:

WRIGLEY FIELD OPENING DAY APRIL 21ST, 1926
VINTAGE STADIUM LIMITED EDITION
COLLECTIBLE BASEBALL

The ball itself says:

WRIGLEY FIELD
HOME OF
CHICAGO CUBS
PLAYING HERE
BROOKLYN 16, 17, 18

Opening Day
April 21 - 1926

CHICAGO
vs.
CINCINNATI

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.