Timid Blackcap

Gradually I am getting aligned to the idea of Christmas. The weather however had changed so that the sun was shining and the air was very warm, for the time of year.

I had lunch then went to sit out in the garden to see which birds might appear for me. I had been out earlier, but then it was to chase away the pesky squirrels, a group of which have taken to raiding the feeders. I found two off them hanging down from the Rhus tree trying to eat out of the small holes.

We are very annoyed with them as our main squirrel proof feeder has disappeared with only a couple of bits that are attached to the main body left lying around on the grass. Helena has looked everywhere to no avail. I can't believe the squirrels could drag away a large two foot long cylinder, but some creature has. It is more likely that the squirrels dislodged the feeder then badgers or foxes have come along and taken it away.

I liked this rather shy Blackcap, which appeared a couple of times, always alone. While I was sitting close to the tree, only Blue Tits and this bird would come and feed. Goldfinches and Bullfinches approached but seemed to veer suddenly away when they noticed me. I need to find a way of hiding whilst staying close, but I fear I won't be sitting there in the garden for long during winter.

I went inside and then saw a lovely Thrush land on the hedge and when it felt safe it hopped next door to Jacqueline's bird table where it could easily eat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.