And Another Thing...

By dhackett68

Why Don't I Feel Festive?

It's been niggling away at me for a while now, and I just twigged part of it this morning...

In the past when I was commuting, Des the stationmaster would have the station decked out come Christmas, with a big tree in front of the passimeter. And some morning in the last week, he'd organise free coffee and mince pies for all the passengers with the help of the coffee kiosk on the platform.

I wasn't around last Christmas, but 6 inches of snow and two kids can get you in the festive spirit. But standing on the platform this morning, and looking across at this ugly gap - the coffee kiosk is gone, the tree is gone, the decorations are gone, the coffee morning is gone and everything's just that little bit less joyous here.

Des, if you read this; you're sorely missed, but enjoy your retirement...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.