My Insane Journey

By euby17

Zam-isms Day 4

Zamseed is by far the largest retailer of crop seeds and fertilizer products in Zambia. In fact, I am not sure there is even a competitor. They carry everything, as long as it's maize, soya bean, cotton, or rice. Not really, they carry other things, but Zambia is not known for it's crop diversity. The government subsidizes maize, so most individual farmers grow that. I don't know the exact ratio of maize to other crops, but I do know that it is as far from even as you could imagine. Maize is the only crop with guaranteed money at the end of the growing season. Zambians, as a while don't take risks. Ever. So the decision of what to grow this year is more or less made for them. Zamseed sells a lot of maiz, as you can imagine. Except for this building I have not seen their name apart from a corn stalk. They know their customers....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.