where does the light go?

I walked to work this morning because I thought it was going to snow. I really enjoyed the walk there and back. in both journeys, the light changed completely, dark to light, light to dark.

Before I met him, I was in the dark.
In the dark about who he was, is and would be.
In the dark about how our relationship would pan out, would we have children? would we be good parents? would we (ref P Larkin) fuck them up? would we grow old together?

DS was born, musical talent was encouraged, good parenting practised, time was given for development, for him, for me, for him.
DD was born, he worked, I parented. I understood more.
The light fell on us both.

He understood he was a frustrated artist, the light blazed through the camera lens and developed a new understanding.

I worked, he parented, ran, parented, clicked, parented. Under the setting sun.
The light faded.

We parented, in turn.
we ran, away.
We took our children to sporting events, one in natural light, one under the spotlight.
We pointed our cameras, in different directions.
We spent the evenings bathed in the light of a screen; watching tele and messing on the web, in different rooms.
The sun set on us.
It went dark.
I was in the dark.
In the dark about who he was, is and would be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.