Ever bright and fair

By vincedesjardins

Mom's Owl

This funny little felt owl Christmas ornament was made by my mother in 1964. It was the year that my family left our California home for a year to live in Beltsville, Maryland. My dad was a plant pathologist at the University of California in Riverside and he took a sabbatical for the year 1964-65. During that year he took a job with the U.S.D.A. in, I believe, College Park, Maryland. We rented out our Southern California home for the year and drove across country. We rented a furnished apartment in Beltsville and, because we couldn't bring a lot of stuff with us, we ended up making a lot of our Christmas ornaments that year. My mom made a whole set of felt birds. My mom used glue to attach the features and feathers and at some point in the past I had to repair him. It looks like I got his eyes on a little cross-eyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.