Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Christmas Cards

I love cards. I like to make them and I like to get them, to see what people choose, to catch up with old friends. I put them up on the doors in the hall and love to look at them. I understand sending ecards on the computer for environmental and time and expense reasons - all valid reasons that I may do myself some day - but for now I just like that piece of paper in the mail. My Dad always made our card and so I got into the habit - there are many different printing methods from woodblock to linocut to rubber stamp to xerox machine and then in '87 I started sending a picture letter with the card. -not that many words, but the pictures had to be cut out and pasted and then xeroxed in black and white. A few years ago I somehow stopped making time to make the card but still did the letter with the help of photoshop. I have them all in a book beginning with some of my parents (the blueprint) to some early ones of mine that I could find. But the photo letters, which some may groan to get (altho it's not much to read) have become an invaluable quick search source for where we were and what happened when in our lives. It's all in one condensed book, to be seen at a glance on a 8.5 x11 piece of paper - a ready mini history of our family. This year again I have sent out just the photo letter, with a personal note for most everyone, and once again vowed to make the card part next year! Here's a few samples of cards, (deer, moose and angels are popular) and this year's letter. HAPPY HOLIDAYS, everyone!!

Had a nice time with friend's over here for wine and snacks and then the grandsons came for dinner and more roll out cookies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.