Boomtown China

By KevinIMitton

An Officer and a trim

Popped in to my local barber shop today for a shave and guy in uniform came in with lots of gold trim. Shame it's covered by the towel.

Taking pictures of anybody in uniform in China is tricky. I was told not to take pictures of military guards for the Universiade (University Games) in Shenzhen thus summer but I got some. In August in Beijing I was made to delete photos of a guard on duty in Tiananmen Square but again I kept some!

The uniformed gentleman in the barber's chair is an Officer, probably commissioned, and he's part of the armed police even though looks like a army uniform. They use weapons up to the size of RPGs anything above that is the army's job.

You'll notice the woman to the left asleep with her feet up on the side with her shoes on. Next to her is the man who'd just given me a shave. He was still puffing away at his ciggie when he started to attend to me. Oh, well.

Oh, it's just 18 RMB for a trim and shave. (£1.80 / $2.80).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.