Rubydoobs

By dailydoobs

New arrival in the stable.

"And Lo I went forth to Johannesburg and there to gaze upon the many signs and wonders of Ronnie Franks bicycle workshop. The time soon cameth when a new arrival entered my stable and I gave gifts of gold to Mr Frank. And there was much joy at the sight."

So I go a huntin for a bike for my boss. I found a second hand dealer in J'Burg and rang him up. "Come over and see what I have". Ronnie and Esmarie live in a large flat down some back street (I have to say I was a little nervous finding the place!) but up on his roof garden there was a plethora of bicycles!! He had hand built vintage de rosa, condors and high tech top carbon two year old cannondales. I thought I was in heaven. Bicycle heaven. So I found a nice giant roadie for my boss but gave way to temptation and also bought a lovely trek hardtail so I can finally get offroad again! Its been too long.

Ronnie himself traveled the world cycling and racing and boxing (he has 44 cape argus races under his belt) until he became ill, now he deals from a wheelchair behind a desk but still talks passionately about the bikes. He can't get up to the bikes to keep things in order so I offered to come back and spend some time sorting out the display and organising things a little! Next time I will take the camera for you lovers of all things two wheeled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.