Naturelover

By Naturelover

Merry Christmas to all!

This is my Christmas card to everyone. I can only take credit for being "the hand" in this photo.

My friend outdoorguy and I often visit a park in our area. One day in the fall we were walking and of course his camera was out and ready. On an impulse I lifted my empty hand and said "I wonder..." and before I could finish the thought, this little downy had landed on my hand, realized I had nothing, and left.

How on earth outdoorguy captured this amazing photo, I will never know. To me, it is just perfect. The downy didn't sit still for more than a fraction of a second.

I felt like Snow White, and I went around singing "ah-ah-ah-ah" in my worst soprano voice all day. I had chicadees and titmice landing on my hand, too, but the downy was the most exciting.

Later I discovered that these birds are used to being fed by visitors. But that didn't diminish the magic of this moment, captured forever by my friend.

I had this greeting card made, and everyone I've sent it to loves it also. So I'm sending it on to you, and wishing you moments of magic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.