Indecent Exposures

By CullenSkink

Orion over Durn Hill

Taken at about 2:30am last night, this is technically today's blip. After I'd been to the pub, I wandered with a pal into the middle of a field until 3:00am taking photos of the nice, bright, cloudless night sky. It was one of those nights where the milky way itself was visible and Jupiter is still kickin' aboot too, amongst the hundreds of shooting stars.

I fired off a handfull of long exposures. It was a hard choice between this one and another of the stars all rotating around the pole star. I'd really like to do more of this stuff but I'm not really sure what's possible with the limited kit I have. I'd also like to minimize the light-trail effect of the earth's rotation on the stars without having to crank up the ISO. Suggestions welcome!

Very little Photoshop work on this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.