A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Christmas moss

Moss can be found all year round of course but to me it seems 
Christmassy since I used to help the women on the farm I used 
to work on make wreaths at Christmas to sell. They would 
sparingly collect moss and holly, making it look like they were
never there, the moss would be wrapped round the rings, the 
holly sprigs would be wired together (this was my job and yes it
hurt) and then the holly would finally be wound thickly on to the 
wreaths and flowers added. They were very popular and the local
graveyards would be adorned with these wreaths. Always makes me 
feel a bit weird when people put wreaths on their front door!

One year I got a Famous Five annual which was full of hints and 
tips on how to survive in the wild (presumably whilst tracking 
down smugglers and the like) and one of the ways in which you 
could find your way out of a forest that you were lost in was to 
look at the moss which grew more thickly on the - I now am not 
sure but think it was North side of tree trunks. Of course it turned
out all our local woods had moss growing thickly all round the tree
trunks in every direction. Luckily I never got lost in any of them.

I never did get round to learning morse code either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.