Not long now...

So, the big day's only a few hours away. And amazingly we're almost ready - all the presents wrapped and under the tree and the house looking reasonably tidy. Pete's just finishing decorating the Christmas cake and four of us are about to sit down to the first festive meal of the holidays - venison braised in ale with chestnuts, and meringues with a chocolate chestnut filling. We do like chestnuts!!

I took the dogs out for an early morning walk. The dawn started well, but soon faded as thin grey clouds enveloped the the sun. I've spent the rest of today cooking - an enjoyable part of the Christmas ritual for me. Tomorrow we shall be spending the day at Pete's Mum's house, but I shall be cooking a full Christmas meal for eleven on Boxing Day, and wanted to get as much prepared as possible today.

I hope that all of you who celebrate Christmas have a wonderful time!!

Sarah x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.