Jens

By jens

"For a long time I could not wear the Jewish badge.
I felt like two frogs were attached to me.
I felt ashamed to be seen on the street with it ...
not because someone could discover that I am a Jew, but it ached me.
I was ashamed about our powerlessness."
Yitzchak Rodashevski
The Diary of a Jewish Boy from Vilna

Accidently I came across the exhibition "Everyday Life of Jewish Children during the Holocaust". I planned a different photo for today, but after seeing the photographs in the exhibiton and reading that text I had to publish these two pictures to remind me of what was started in Europe only 72 years ago.

The undertitle of the right picture was:
In a German school two Jewish children stay in front of their classmates with lowered head..On the chalkboard is written: The Jew is our biggest enemy. Beware of the Jews.

"Zwei jüdische Kinder stehen in einer deutschen Schule mit gesenktem Kopf vor ihren Klassenkameraden..Auf der Tafel steht geschrieben: Der Jude ist unser grösster Feind. hütet Euch vor den Juden."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.