Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Across the Way

The light is fading (in the sky) on Christmas Eve.

Yesterday, I photographed the inside of our house from the front window. Turning 180 degrees around, and looking west, this is the sight that greets you today.

Very impressive, even if not exactly our taste in decoration. We look out of our windows every evening and see a glow from across the main road. I thought that I would risk crossing it (the risk is low this year, because on a Saturday there are no office parties coming to an end, and thus returning inebriates) to find out what is there.

It all looks very festive.

I have been cooking a Game Casserole, the visitors have returned from Carol Services and parties, and we have opened two bottles of 1976 Savigny-les-Beaune, which is amazingly not terribly faded. I must leave you to be Pater Familias as well as chef-de-cuisine for the evening. Tomorrow, they can cook (there's a goose in a car boot, stand-in 'fridge)!

The point of this Blip is to wish everyone the happiest and merriest Christmas that I can imagine and that you can muster.

All the very best!

The Scharwenka family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.