wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Oh Christmas Tree...

... Oh Christmas Tree, what a view out hath thee...




It was a pretty good Christmas Eve. Breakfast with friends, poached eggs, bacon, lots of fruit, mmmm yes please. Then an afternoon of finishing wrapping presents, making a couple of others, and then off to the kids' service at church with my three nieceynephs. We got home from that, ate soup and (more) eggs while watching Shark Tale, then sent all the kiddies off to bed while we ate lebkuchen, drank tea, and watched Going Postal on catch up. Being Christmas Eve, we then went off to Midnight Mass at All Saints. I can't remember a Christmas without that service, and it's definitely my favourite of the year. I can live without 'The First Noel', but the rest is great. The church is a little cosy place, and it gets packed out. It's High Anglican, so all the bells, smells and sung bits. I couldn't do that every week, but every now and then it's wonderful to be reminded of just how wonderfully big the 'reason for the season' is. I was struck by the thought that it's funny to be celebrating such humble beginnings in such magnificence, but then I realised that really we were in a humble little church, doing very dramatic things, and that's just how it should be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.