Childhood Memories

This Nativity Scene in our local church is one of my oldest childhood Christmas memories.
After you insert a coin the church door opens and an angels circles (flies?) around the church.
To the sound of a barrel organ playing a Christmas song one by one the lights turn on.

The thing I remember most is that the mechanics didn't work and how disappointing that was. I was told many times there was no money to have it repaired.

I know the "main actors" have been replaced sometime. In my childhood baby Jesus was made of wax - I was all fascinated by that back then.

To take the picture I tried to press the shutter the moment all lights were on (the star, the tower, the church, the one in the crib, the fire). I ran out of coins to catch that moment and this is the best of all shots.

I went to see the crib in the late morning and was surprised no one else was there. Children (little ones and big ones like me) still visit the church whenever posssible only to see the crib.

Merry Christmas!

2:35 pm 3,2°C



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.