happy christmas lights

For christmas eve we went to my mom's, where my sister, her husband and my nephews are staying during their week-long visit. We took a boat trip in Chelsea Rover on the bayou, which was really enjoyed by all, including Asia & Chloe. My brother in law suggested to Steven that he sell boat tours to tourists!

For dinner, my mom made dried corn, a Pennsylvania Dutch tradition that my dad loved so much. His mom, my Nonie, cooked this nutty flavored dried corn every year. You reconstitute it with water and cook for at least 1 day; them add cream at the end -mmmm! I was not expecting dried corn and that was so lovely. Kathy made a delicious pumpkin bread and also lemon squares for desert, yum! Mom had ordered a capon and I said I would cook the bird and do the stuffing. I put it in brine first to make it more tender and then followed directions that included an herb butter made earlier at home from herbs I had grown -so cool! The stuffing was a bagged variety, but with added onions, celery, carrots and dried cranberries I made earlier in a casserole. Steven made his famous mashed potatoes and we collaborated on the gravy! It was all so delicious I must say and before we started eating my brother in law raised a toast to the chair that was not filled, my dad. He would have been happy to see us all working together like that.

After dinner, Steven and I and the pups, with one nephew in our car led my dad's pick-up truck with another dog, my mom, sister and brother in law, around the neighborhood to see the lights. There is one street that runs along the Manatee River that sets up luminaries all along the streets and sidewalks -paper bags filled with sand and a candle inside. I enjoyed taking pictures of the holiday lights at night with no special settings on my camera and seeing what happens when the shutter is open for so long, larger view here.

wishing you peace, love and light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.