What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Christmas Day

I meant to do a family Blip today but seeing as Jo is in Oz it really wouldn't be right to do one without her; I will see if I can't get one of all of Dad's side on Tuesday when we all get together at our cousin's.

So the alternative is this, not the Christmas tree but another symbol that many associate with Christmas, taken in my Dad's church (he goes into town, Mum goes in the village) where they open up the altar to put the nativity scene in beneath it. I don't know exactly how old the figures are, but I remember the same ones from back in the late 80's when I, a very excitable young version of the excitable older version of the current me, got so excited about putting a shepherd in the scene it took me three attempts to stand him up in the straw properly. As far as I know they were around for years before me as well - a lovely set of figures and I hope their use continues long into the future.

Post lunch the other version of Christmas appeared and we all got down to some serious present opening with drinks, food and quizzing - Team Davies (named in honour of Alan) actually won the first round of QI, to my great joy I was given both a Mr Creosote vomiting sauce dispenser and an Indiana Jones bullwhip that plays the theme (you may laugh at both), both vying for the title of most-awesome-weird present ever!

Tomorrow we're off to Blenheim Palace for a Boxing Day walk and I'm sure I'll have plenty of photos to choose from my Blip, until then all that remains is to wish every Blipper a Merry Christmas and happy holidays!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.