Pop's Life

By pop

I am a VERY LUCKY Man

It is Christmas. For me it is a time to be with family and it is a time for reflection. It is a time, for me, to make some persoinal adjustments that will make me a better husband, father, friend, and a better man.

At my age, 65, I am very lucky to have my Dad and my (step-) mother here at Christmas. My real Mom died when I was 11 months old and Dad married "Mom" when I was 5. Now "Mom" is Mom as she has been for a long time. Dad is now 85 and Mom will be 80 in April. Mom is very sick with cancer. I hope and pray she will have many more "good days" and no bad days, but I am a realist.

I am beyond lucky to have a wife who loves me as much as Pat does. I cannot imagine anyone else taking such great care of me. I love her just as much, maybe more. Pat is my second wife. We recently celebrated our 23rd weding anniversary.

I spoke with my firstborn, my daughter, Rachel, and her two boys, Evan and Derek, this morning. They're doing pretty well. We'll be seeing them again in the early spring.

My 4th child, Chuck, called today from Arizona. We used Skype to communicate with Chuck, his wonderful wife, Marcia, and my two granddaughters, Chloe and Norah. My Dad and Mom were blown away by Skype! The Arizona contingent of my family is doing vey well and I am proud they are part of me.

My son, Chris, and his girlfriend, Debbie, visited us today. Chris works with me, so we see eacher other on a regular basis. We've worked together since 1996, so I guess we will make it. Chris makes me proud every day.

Sadly, my third child, Wayne, passed on in 1997 at the age of 27. He left a wife, Roe, and a 20 month old son. Joseph turns 16 this week. He's a very good student, he's an amazing musician (guitar and bass), and he's a wonderful kid. His Mom has done an amazing job as a single parent.

It is a joy to see my children grow to become competent adults, good citizens leading good lives and to see my family grow.

Wow! This has become a very sentimental but cathartic writeup. I might have to edit or redact some of this. Right now, I wish I could put my arms around everyone I've mentioned and to hug them all at once as hard as I can.

Merry Chrismas everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.