running commentary

By Stesedthat

A day in the Lakes (almost literally)

After a grand fellrun, out from Pooley Bridge to Fusedale via Howtown and back again I took a drive along the Lakeside toward Glenridding. I was intending to go to Aira Force but when I saw how high the water was, and how rough, I knew there would be a photo opportunity much nearer.

This was taken from the boathouse at Gowbarrow Bay on the shores of Ullswater. Initially I tried some long exposures but I prefer the stopped motion of the waves impact, and anyway, the tripod took some holding still in the fierce wind.

Despite the sun scarcely making an appearance all day, just as I parked up a few rays were shining weakly across Ullswater through a small break in the blanket of cloud cover. I would have had to go further left, possibly onto the jetty, to include the sun directly. I wasnt keen on getting my feet wet (again) so stuck to the bank. and made do.

Click for bigger version


Saturdays Blip quiz was correctly identified by Cumbrias cleverest man, David Harrison.
It was taken in the van mirror. From just the normal driving position of perhaps 4 feet away it was fully zoomed in to 200mm and the mirror is badly cracked (not by me i hasten to add, I'm an excellent driver (D. Hoffman))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.