CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Ruminating on synchronicity

Yesterday, I was affected, or more accurately rather moved, by a fellow blippers subject and what had been evoked. I thought of commenting, then decided against it. Instead, I started to look inside myself to see if I could recognise what had been 'touched' in me.

What soon came to 'mind' was that I didn't know where the painting of 'me' by Meggie Watt was. I then wanted to find and look at it again, which I did at lunchtime today. It was stacked in a dark place in my study, but is now in the open and I want to find a place for it in my room.

The painting, which is very important to me, was commissioned by Helena having had one done for herself. The elderly lady in Argyll paints the images that come into her vision about a person, a sort of aura painting, and this was done from a photograph of me which Helena had shown to Meggie in 1998.

I was absolutely astounded when I received it, because I immediately knew it was a synchronous event. At that time I was studying Dreamwork based very much on a Jungian approach, and for some years I had been immersed in very useful learning. I was then reading a book called Creation Myths by Marie-Louise von Franz, Shambhala 1995, who had been one of Carl Jung's very closest collaborators.

Following his death, she had continued his work introducing the concept of the pathway to individuation, and this introduced me to alchemy, dreams, archetypes and synchronicity in modern terms (and much more).

On the second to last page of the book, Creation Myths, she had drawn a diagram of three interlinked circles, one above the other. From top to bottom, she had named Spirit (rational soul), Psyche and Body, which all together form the image of the Unus Mundus.

I won't explain any more, as it is quite complicated and probably unnecessary, but I wanted to just acknowledge this to myself.

A little while after I received the picture, I met Meggie near Helena's mother's home near Oban, as I wanted to see if she could add anything more about what she had produced. She was delightful, gave me tea, and other than saying that she had never ever produced a painting like this one, she couldn't explain what she does. That is fine, and so often the way.

I always feel woken up when I notice synchronous events in my life. I do seem to be one of those people to whom they are not uncommon. I may even wonder what dreams might come to me at this time :o))

ps
Although not a self-portrait it is a photo of a form of me and I quite enjoyed trying to avoid the reflections and the frame in which the painting lies, which would have been against blip rules! I wouldn't want that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.