Bedside Reading

No sooner have the Two Turtle Doves flown the Dower House, than thoughts start about the injudiciously planned family birthdays taking place as soon as the 8 Maids come Milking, the 9 Ladies are Dancing and the 10 Lords are Leaping, not to mention a friend who celebrates with the 11Pipers Piping and another family member who misses by a day playing with the 12 Drumming Drummers.

Cards and presents have to be bought and dispatched now in order to miss the closure of the postal system for New Year.
I blame the parents for misjudging the conception of these children; I plead guilty to only one.

With a certain measure of reluctance to re enter the outside world of crowds and sales I have taken the opportunity to blip his Lordship's prescribed reading matter.

I'm sure you will be able to note some disparity between the bedside books, but in fact here is a man of catholic taste, completely at ease reading about the Boer War while still able to chortle at the antics of the Broon family and 'Oor Wullie.

For those of you unacquainted with 'The Broons', they were a family depicted from the second half of the 1930's every week in the Scottish Sunday Post an iconic paper read by much of the population of Scotland in the 40's and 50's and even the 60's.
The original art work was that of Dudley Watkins of the D.C Thomson newspaper group in Dundee.

The family was a multi generational working class one and their doings are still appreciated by many people - but not by me I have to say. I'm not a fan of cartoon based work, be it the Broons, Oor Wullie or Asterix.

But enough information, I'm about to concoct a meal from 5 Brussel sprouts, some left over turkey, a selection of tiger prawn dim sum balls and the remains of a trifle and cheese cake. I am reminded of my Girl Guide's Cook's badge in the days of yore.
Roll on the day of an empty fridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.