What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Family Reunion

100 Blips in a row - whoo!

And a lovely day to accompany it, starting with the source of today's Blip, skyping with my little sis down in Australia this morning. The dog she is waving around in front of the camera belongs to her friends Stef and Anna who have been sheltering Jo from the wilds of Oz while she looks for a job, though she is about to move into a house with her friend Vicky instead. And she has a job, something involving guinea pigs and science (I wouldn't hold out hope for the guinea pigs...).

The rest of the day was spent round at my cousins' with them, my great-uncle, their children (my cousins), their children (also my cousins?) and to my great joy a Lego Hogwarts that needed building. My cousin Ken and I leapt into the fray, carefully making sure that while the kids helped we had most of the fun did the bulk of the work.

We also dropped by the cemetery in Purton to put fresh flowers on my grandparents' stone there, it has been five Christmases without them both now, my first without a cat, so it has been feeling a bit more empty than usual this year. Happily with lego, skyping and family abounding the rest of today didn't let the emptiness linger.

A day of rest tomorrow - nothing to do but a few hours work, a bit of light packing before the New Year's trip and hopefully a trip into town for a Christmas drink with me mates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.