Around Luxor

By LivinginLuxor

Going home is such a ride....

It was strange to see schoolchildren in the streets on Christmas day in Luxor - even stranger to my friends in England when I told them that on Christmas morning I went into the city to get money from the ATM and then went shopping!

It is a normal day here (except for most of the Expat population who want the full Christmas Dinner with turkey and all the trimmings), as the Coptic Christians celebrate their Christmas on 6th January.

Today, I ran out of coffee, so I needed to go to Gezira - our local town - to get some.
Afterwards, I just sat for a while people watching - a pleasant hobby of mine - and the local kindergarten just let the children out, and so one of their teachers started to load them onto a minibus to take them home. Here 4 is the age for kindergarten, and this group of little people had had enough education for one day!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.