Animal Tracks & Signs

To make sense of this photo, you really need to start here.

Today was the last day of the course. It was an opportunity to bring everything we'd been taught over the week into practise. And it worked.

We were asked to follow a track over a large area of ground. The subtle signs that we would have missed on Monday shone out like beacons. We'd learned to listen, smell and look and look again. We found the track - by using all our senses.

I don't think I'll see my environment in the same way again. I'll see more.

Ms MV bought me the book above for Christmas. When I first looked at it it was a series of drawings of animal tracks and photos of poo. It had no context.

After this week it has a real context.

If you show me a hazlenut shell, I can tell you what's been eating it by the tooth marks.

I can make sense of this book now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.