Thy Acrid Teardrop

By RadicalRadish

Sticks & Stones

I'm one of those people who fiddles. You know the ones, they sit in meetings and tap a pen, or unbend a paper clip and often annoy those around them. Yes, well I'm one of those. To be honest I'm not sure if this is a lifelong affliction or one which developed while I was bored in school. I distinctly remember a primary school teacher removing every single thing I could possibly fiddle with from my desk and her exasperation when I simply tapped my fingers on the desk instead. That poor woman, she no longer teaches but I'm sure I didn't drive her to give it up...

This is one of my current objects of fiddling fixation. I was recently in the company of someone when I spotted a pot full of various sized stones, me being me couldn't help but start touching them and I was invited to choose one for myself. There were a few around the same size as this one but I had reason to choose this above the others. You see, they were smooth, polished and flawless. This one however is not. It is a rock at one end and a stone at the other. It is beautiful and ugly at the same time. That essentially sums up how I feel about myself right now. Undoubtedly I am ugly, in the standard societal view of the word. As my treatment progresses it is likely I will get more ugly. But, I hope at least, on the inside and in my personality I have a beauty about me. I certainly see beauty around me in the world and I don't know if I would if I had none inside of me.

Beauty, as the saying goes, is in the eye of the beholder but also it is only as deep as the skin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.