Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Winter Walk

For the second consecutive Wednesday I found myself in Ilkley, this time with the whole family as we went for a short walk and geocaching expedition in Middleton Woods.

It was a distinctly winter walk - hardly a leaf left, grey skies, but with a hint of the spring growth of wild garlic and bluebells beginning to push up through the leaf layer.

We were successful with three cache finds, and for one I was glad I was wearing wellies, as a wade through a stream was required. All these had been laid by the same person, and I think we can begin to detect a style in their locations chosen, and methods of hiding. GPS works a lot better in winter woods when the leaf cover has gone, we struggled with a few woddland caches during the summer.

Today's image was a choice between this, and Tree Lichen, or Lichen Tree. I've probably gone for the more obvious one, but it nicely summed up the feel of being in the winter woods. It's a mono image, but looks hardly any different in colour.

I should also thank @PeninsulaLight who correctly identified the fault that I reported yesterday as operator error, rather than a camera malfunction. I had been fiddling with white balance and metering mode settings and left them away from my usual settings. I make no pretence about being technically in control of my photography yet, even with the limited camera I have. I try to stay within a comfort zone, concentrate more on what goes in the frame, and make the best image I can from that.

I'm looking forward to the second Bradford blip meet tomorrow, following our Oxfam Blipnic in June. We're meeting at 11:00 in front of the National Media Museum if you're in the neighbourhood.

winter ~ in the woods ~ lost ~ in the struggle ~ for light

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.