My visual bursts

By mindbursts

The stairwell, the De le Warr, Bexhill

Late afternoon, mid-winter, while attending the Andy Warhol exhibition.

A modest affair, London by the sea, with London prices in the bookshop and a couple of galleries that felt like a shoebox off the Tate's Turbine Room.

My first close encounter with an Andy Warhol though having of course seen so much of his work in books and documentaries.

Even a short 'look and see' tour with a 13 and 15 year old will have made an impact. Unlike my mother, with an MA in Fine Art from Durham University, I did not provide an undercurrent of explanatory notes. Let them make of it what they will through simple observation, the art history they can discover from themselves.

I may make a return trip, to hang around the space, to write here one afternoon.

Though used to buying catalogues and books from these things I come away with nothing at all; I quickly conclude that everything I can look at in a book is already neatly catalogued and readily available online, so what's the point?

P.S. How is 'Warhol' pronounced? Is is 'Hol' as in the abbreviation for 'holidays' or 'whole' as in 'holes' or 'wholes'? My teenage daughter made me so self-conscious I stopped saying it at all. David Bowie has this debate with Mick Ronson or his producer at the end of 'Andy Warhol' on Ziggy Stardust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.