The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Colour

This was the only colour in the sky all day, and just about the only part of the day when it wasn't raining steadily. When I first moved to Cumbria after 5 years in Kent when I had never needed to even own a waterproof coat, I was a bit shocked by the amount of rain. One of my colleagues reassured me that we needed the rain to keep the lakes topped up in the Lake District, and I now know just how true this is for the lakes which are used for public water supply. But it's surely not too much to ask for even just one dry, frosty day the Christmas/New Year week when we are on holiday?

Before dawn this morning the sky was colourful and promising. But the promise faded quickly and the sun never showed, then the rain started.

Fortunately we had Birdie Ronnie and Carolyn for lunch, joined by Arnside Simon. An afternoon of good company and funny birding stories counterbalanced the cabin fever which has been growing these last few days.

Tomorrow is the last day of the year, the last blip of the year. Then I shall have a full set for 2011. And after that.........................................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.