Diary of a Homeowner

By JennyWrenny

Metro Misery 2

Work has been deathly quiet this week and the days have dragged. I was glad to finally get away tonight, but just as I left it began to pour with rain. A colleague kindly agreed to give me a lift to Meadow Well Metro Station. Bad timing though, because when I arrived it was 14 minutes until the next metro, which gave me some time to take some pictures.

For those of you who don't know, there were riots on the Meadow Well Estate in 1991, which were triggered by the deaths of two youths who were driving a stolen car and being pursued by the police. The area still has a bit of a reputation, but a lot of money has gone into regenerating it. Needless to say Nexus are upgrading the metro station, which accounts for its partcularly bleak demeanour on this miserable Friday night.

In other news I went to see The Lady tonight, which I really enjoyed despite the somewhat shaky reviews and the kissing/talking couple next to me. Very annoying!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.