The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

God For a Day

I spent the day walking on water. I thought it was quite remarkable but my thirteen year-old daughter told me I stayed above it because it was frozen. Surely she is sorely mistaken and has yet to realize the purity of my soul. In any event, I took off from work this afternoon to spend some "leisure time". Of course, I brought my cell and had two calls standing in the middle of my solitude.

There are about 300 ice-fish houses on our lake and they are all filled with colorful people. I happened upon this gent and he invited me into his castle. He and his buddies spend most of their time away from their work in the mills fishing in this shed, beer in one hand, fishing line in the other. A wood stove keeps the warm and dry. Sometimes the cabin fever, or the beer, must cause them to decorate with ink, magazine pictures of delightful women sans garments and a few dead trophies from their sporting lives. They have been fishing and hunting in this area their whole lives. We sat and talked about his life and his love of "meat gathering" with friends.

On the two mile walk home, I reflected on his life of simple pleasure versus mine of frenzy and cell phone waves to the brain. I was Lord of the Ice for three hours, he will be such for eternity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.