investigations of a dag

By kasty

Gamsay chique

Turned out I needed one more day to roam planet flu but feeling better.

Managed to roam the sales very briefly on my way to help with twinnies and in my delirium bought this jumper. Is shopping the female hunting? Hmm not sure.

I think was inspired by a lovely r4 documentary about gamsay jumpers (my spelling, will fix later), a knitting tradition in the north east of Scotland. Bespoke patterns, colours and symbols were unique to each village and even each man (they were mostly men working on crofts and in fishing). Coils portrayed the seaweed for luck or an anchor near the heart meant the wearer was married. I don't knit but I imagine it took real skill and care. Sad to think it was so common a tradition that it even helped identify drowned men and few survive as many men were buried in them.

For me, I envied this faux fashion version from afar and I am still swithering. Not sure I can afford it even at sale price. Maybe I can justify it if I can come up with a symbolic connection to the birds? I do like birds me... And it is reversible. Everyone will just think I'm aping a certain danish tv series...

Just the shops and some baby entertaining but once again wiped. Hope I'm better for the bells.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.