Sally's photos

By sallysphotos

Friendship...

The end of the year. A time for thought and reflection. Last year I spent my first New Year with my new partner in Göttingen, Germany. If all goes well with the trains (I'm currently on ICE 125 to Frankfurt) I will spend my second New Year in Göttingen, with my new friend, A.

2011 has been a challenging year for me and some of my near and dear ones. My thoughts go out particularly to E., who at only 38 is dealing with life-threatening cancer. 2011 has been a very challenging year for my good friend C. However in the last few weeks I see her joy in life returning.

This year I thought that I would learn how to love someone. Despite my best efforts, our love did not blossom, but died a very slow and painful death. Even at the darkest moments, I found the inner strength to go on.

So what did I learn this year?

#1 Putting myself first is not selfish, but essential
#2 Friendship is precious
#3 Sometimes I have to stop trying

What are my goals for 2012?

#1 Publish my book
#2 Slow down
#3 Be open for love

To everyone out there, I wish you a healthy and happy 2012. My advice: follow your dreams xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.