Marking Time

By Libra

Canoeing on the River Allan

I was on my way to take a blip pic of Stirling Castle as it prepares for a six hour party to-night starting at 9pm (I wont be there, instead we will be bringing in the New Year with friends in Dunblane) when I noticed these canoeists getting out of the river.

They saw me about to take a photo and waved.

If you're into canoeing, the River Allan is amongst Britain's top 100 white water rivers.

They get into the Allan River in Ashfield, five miles north, and out at
Bridge of Allan.

Adam Sawyer writing on the river for the
The UK Rivers Guidebook says:
"The Allan is like a night out at a tacky nightclub. Sometimes you score, other times, well it just goes on too long. DON'T GET ON WHEN IT'S LOW. In high water, this is a continuous run, huge surf waves."

He warns against it for novices:

"Any swims at high water will be punished with long rescues and, in our experience, boat loss!!! Beware."

Well, I have never heard a river described as a nightclub before...but then when did I last go to a nightclub?


Happy New Year everyone!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.