Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Hogmanay 2011 : Scotland The World Over

Five

A Happy New Year to my friends and family all over the World.

It seemed appropriate to get the Saltire out and take part in "Scotland The World Over" again. Lots of things here to celebrate the New Year.

Large and small Saltires.
Tartan rug which belonged to my Grandmother.
Four different whiskies and a glass to raise for the New Year Toast.
Tablet.
Ayrshire Dunlop Cheese with the very important Nairns oatcakes.
Jimmy Hat.
Tartan Scarf.
Sporran.

My favourite version of Auld Lang Syne is the traditional one sung by Eddi Reader. I give you the last verse :

And here's a hand, my trusty fere! (fere - friend)
And gie's a hand of thine! (gies - give me)
We'll tak a cup o' kindness yet,
For auld lang syne.

For auld lang syne, my dear,
For auld lang syne.
We'll tak a cup o' kindness yet,
For the sake of auld lang syne.


(For those interested, set up on a table with two armchairs behind and the sporran resting on a music stand between the two chairs.)

SF

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.