The cat's whiskers

I'd love to say that this is my contribution to the International Colin Day celebrations which started recently but I'm afraid that it only occurred to me latterly.

This vehicle is a DMU Class 108 Diesel Mechanical Multiple Unit and was the only decent shot I got today. I was on my way down to Northiam for a coffee and to get some nice photos when Cal rang to say that the were finishing early. That meant turning around and taking pot luck at Rolvenden. The light was going though so I ended up with some long exposure (read that as blurred) shots and a couple of the DMU driver exchanging the token with the signalman and then the unit pulling into the station. I'd decided that today was going to be a train photo so here it is.

Another year rolls round. The children are bigger and more independent, work is a constant whirlwind and full of challenges and change and I'm still finding time to sneak out and take photographs and watch birds and walk on the beach or in the hills so all in all it'll do. Happy New Year everyone - let's hope that 2012 brings us what we want rather than what we deserve.

The title? I know I've used it before when shooting this subject - it's the name given to the design painted on the front of the train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.