Today's Special

By Connections

Almost Final Fling

It's not as if I indulge in mochas with whipped cream every day, or even every month, but this seemed an appropriate image for the last day of 2011, plus blipping now means that I can freely indulge in the Champagne and the truffles laced with Laphroaig in our celebration à deux at home tonight!

Phil and I went to Fairhaven in mid-morning with Miss Annie ensconced in state in the car's back seat. Our first stop was Village Books, which had 20% off everything in the store this weekend. I bought several books for myself and others, while Phil made sure that Annie received her usual treat from the friendly staff.

Ready for a real breakfast now (we'd had coffee and toast at home earlier), we enjoyed special coffees at Tony's Coffee while waiting for a table to be available at the Harris Avenue Cafe, which is conveniently adjoined to Tony's. The cafe was full of families and friends, and the pale sunlight lit up the yellow walls and the happy faces.

One last stop before heading for home -- the Whatcom Humane Society's "Paws Awhile" gift shop, where Miss Annie politely took just one biscuit from the bowl left out at dog height.

My year-end gift to Phil was a particularly good bliportunity -- don't miss it!

Happy New Year to everyone reading my 90th blip! You've made me welcome in this wonderful virtual community, and I am deeply grateful.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.