Melissa Holmes

By melissaholmes

Queen of Clean

As well as being an award-winning journalist and all-round genius (ahem! Well - if no one else is gonna blow your trumpet you have to do it for yourself!) I am also a cleaner at my local pub. Seven days a week of men's urinals, cigarette butts, Henry hoover (who is currently off sick with a button problem) and mops and buckets. It's a glamorous life, but someone's got to live it.

Anyway, part and parcel of the job is of course the polishing of the brass all round the bar and on the door plates. Which leads me to the wonder that is... Brasso. Pregnant women love the smell of it, ex-army brats can't get enough of it.

I for one think the bottle is a design classic and have been wanting to snap it for ages.

Slight problem though in that I had to do it at work in my wee cleaner's cupboard - hence terrible lighting and muck everywhere. So it hasn't turned out the way I envisioned it which is a little annoying. Did a bit of fiddling with it in iPhoto but still very little joy.

Anyway, that's all.

I'm still feeling unloved today, and for some reason the dogs on the street are all howling. At least the sun is shining but we'll see how long that lasts... no doubt the heavens will open as soon as I head out to take Hamish down to the vet for his first set of jags.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.