Runhills

By Runhills

Cottage Homes

My walk this morning with daughter #2 was dry and there was a bit of sunshine filtering through, by the time we got home the rain had started and the sky had turned very grey.

While I was surfing the net the other day I came across some historical information on the workhouse that existed about half a mile from where I now live. Included in the history was an old picture of the children's cottage homes erected in 1913 on the site of the old workhouse.

The picture taken in 1915 can be seen here, just scroll down to Kirkham Cottage Homes from the south-east, c.1915

I blipped the middle one of the 3 homes which have until recently been used as offices, trees obscure the houses so I cannot re-create the original picture.

I hope your New Year celebrations went well, all the best for 2012.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.