thephotostoryofmylife

By soshanau

Photo 1 #366photos: New adventures

I've missed taking a photo a day. And I've missed what taking a photo a day and writing about it did for my way of thinking - seeing the extraordinary in the ordinary, finding meaning and signs in my every day experiences.

I thought the new year would be a good time to resolve to make a change in my life. 2012 is a big birthday year for me too (which I'm not going to dwell on too much - age is just a number, I keep telling myself!)

It also coincides with what I hope will be an exciting year for me, full of new adventures. My job will be taking me on trips to South East Asia, to countries that I have never visited before. I'm very excited and hope that it will provide inspiration for my photos and my writing.

I received a copy of Keri Smith's How to be an explorer of the world for Christmas. I've just been flicking through it but so much rings a bell. Everything IS interesting. And this blog and my trusted notebook for jotting down my thoughts, collating patterns of the world around me might well provide the inspiration I need. Perhaps this is the year for me to be braver.

And on that note, here's a quote from the book:

Every morning when we wake up, we have twenty-four brand-new hours to live. What a precious gift!

Thich Nhat Hanh

And my photo of the day, taking two explorations from the book and producing a mash-up: collecting type and documenting things about where I am sitting right now. My mum's Chinese almanac calendar, considered old-fashion to the new generation and rare in most modern homes now. I like it as it reminds me of home, my mum, promises and wishes, and where I come from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.