A Benny-ficial start to 2012

Eggs Benedict (aka Eggs Benny) is our traditional breakfast for special days like New Year's, Christmas, Easter, and birthdays. Because they are on such august occasions there are no calories associated with the meal (so I'm given to understand).

The Ed mug is from 1978. It was a welcome gift from my now late Uncle Pete and Aunt Joan (in Dutch Ome Pete and Tante Jo). I lived with them in Toronto to attend Central Technical School - a renowned high school - for grades 10, 11, and 12 just a few blocks away. They had similar mugs and thought I should have one as well. Mine sports a locomotive from the Highland Railway. My uncle's also had a loco but i do not recall what one. My aunt had a flower.

Breakfast was done in the usual manner of poached eggs, freshly-made Hollandaise sauce (from a packet, I have not yet attempted from scratch), Black Forest ham slices, a slice of cheddar cheese, all on a toasted English muffin. The changes this year are we opted for whole wheat muffins instead of white and I topped my breakfast with crumbled cheddar and freely-ground pepper from my new grinder. I had thought too late of crumbling some blue cheese on top. Perhaps tomorrow. We have some leftover sauce - enough for two Bennys or a mess of scrambled Bennys.

Happy New Year to one and all. And happy blipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.